The Somerset and Dorset Railway Trusts museum at Washford contains relics from the former Somerset & Dorset Joint Railway which ran from Bath to Bournemouth with branchlines to Highbridge, Burnham on Sea, Wells and Bridgwater. All finally closing in 1966. Please note that the museum is not open every day. Please click here for opening dates.
A Railway Remembered
Explore the mass of exhibits, ponder on the old station names and soak up the evocative atmosphere.
Relics to be seen are station nameboards, lamps, tools, signalling equipment, tickets, photographs, handbills, rolling stock and steam locomotives.
Step back in time as you operate the levers in the reconstructed Midford Signal Box
Museum Admission Prices
Washford Station is the first station on the ‘extension’ from Watchet to Minehead and is different in style from the buildings of the earlier line. The station opened in 1874 and unlike some of the other stations on the line is in the village it serves.
The Station is painted in Southern Region colours setting it apart from the other stations, painted in the colours of the Great Western Railway and its successor the Western Region of British Railways. The small wooden building next to the main building is the original signalbox which contains a set of levers. Although the ‘Midford’ exhibit has been designed to represent an ex-S&DJR location, the lever-frame is in fact a part of one from the former signal-box at Woolston (near Southampton).
Find out more about the Somerset and Dorset Trust
Find out more about English Heritage's Cleeve Abbey.
Browse other stations
- Bishops Lydeard
- Crowcombe Heathfield
- Doniford Halt
- Blue Anchor