Home » Media » Somerset Stages Rally

Somerset Stages Rally

(11/04/2011 @ 17:02:00)

The Somerset Stages Rally starts from the West Somerset Railway’s Minehead Rally Station at 8.00am on Saturday 16th April.  The 1400cc Vauxhall Nova VXR190 of Taunton’s Julian Wilkes, partnered by Guernsey-based Will Rutherford, will have the honour of leading the Somerset Stages Rally away from its Minehead start.

The class-based Swisher MSA English Rally Championship moves to Minehead for the third of its seven rounds and, as you would expect, all the main protagonists will be taking the opportunity to move their respective claims to the title forward. As they arrive in the south-west, Darren Pinchin and Ash Slights are joint leaders, marginally ahead of Warren Philliskirk (York – Ford Escort MkII), Allan McDowall (Tarbolton – Opel Kadett GT/E), Clive Anstey (Chippenham – Vauxhall Corsa) and Matt Beebe (Nuneaton – MG ZR 160). At this early stage, one slip or even a minor problem could lead to a significant alteration of the leaderboard by the end of the day.

The West Somerset Railway is running throughout the Rally with the start line next to Minehead Railway Station, The Buffer Stop Shop and Turntable Cafe.

Back To Media

© West Somerset Railway 2015

Online Ticketing